Doughnuts Versus Donuts: Is There a Winner?

By Matt Vicker

At the weekend, my Dad bought a packet of jam doughnuts (strawberry, of course). I have always spelt doughnuts like this. On this packaging, however, it was spelt ‘donuts’. This got me thinking, is this an American-ism, or is it just a simpler/lazier spelling?

I presume it is just an Americanism, in the same way that they don’t use ‘u’ in spellings of colour, humour, harbour and so on. One thing is for sure, ‘doughnut’ was the first way to spell it in English. However, ‘donut’ is quite commonly used here in the UK, as just an alternative spelling. There is no semantic differences between the two spellings that I am aware of. It is not very often that we have two different ways to spell the same word, which prompted this post.

Ultimately, I want to know what you think. Are you a doughnut or a donut? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

