Interesting and Unusual Words: “Cinematography”

By Matt Vicker

“Cinematography”

Whilst watching the BAFTAs last night, Gravity won a lot of awards. One of these was the category: ‘cinematography’. Hey presto, I got me a blog post! What is ‘cinematography’? Well, I’m glad you asked. Basically, as far as I understand it, it is basically the process of making films – the OED defines it as the ‘use of the cinematograph; the art of taking and reproducing films’. I have not seen Gravity – it didn’t really appeal to me in all honesty, but it would appear that it is a great example of cinematography done well!

The OED entry for ‘cinematography’: http://www.oed.com/view/Entry/33092?redirectedFrom=cinematography#eid

Leave a Reply

